Turning auto-renew on or off

Auto-renew is a great feature that can be used to set your domain for yearly payment. This feature is useful is you have many domains and aren't looking to keep track of each domain's renewal date manually.

Information regarding auto-renew

Auto-renew is toggled on as the default state for all new domain registrations. 

Auto-renew will not work if your card has expired so if you are using this feature make sure you keep your billing information current. With auto-renew, we make the payment a day before the expiration of the domain to ensure there's no downtime on the domain due to expiration. This applies to most TLD's for some payment is taken earlier.

Once we process a renewal for your domain, we cannot cancel it, and the domain will live on for the entirety of its registration period. 

For most domains, auto-renew tries to renew the domain the day before it's expiration to avoid downtime due to it expiring. We make four attempts to auto-renew starting the day before expiration, the day of the expiration, the day after it expires and two days after it expires. 

For other domains, auto-renew may take place much earlier as these domains may have stricter penalties for a domain expiration like having no grace period, for instance. 

Back to top

Renewal notifications

Two types of renewal reminders get sent out when auto-renew is turned on.

  • Renewal reminders sent from Hover.
  • Renewal reminders from ICANN.

Renewal reminders sent from Hover can be adjusted or opted out of altogether. The Hover expiration reminders are sent starting 60 days before expiration for most TLD's. They continue after the expiration date to help ensure that your domain doesn't expire without your knowledge.
Domain_Notification_Timeline.png

Renewal reminders from ICANN are mandatory and are required to be sent out by ICANN which cannot be adjusted. These are sent to the registrant contact one month and five days before expiration and three days after.

When auto-renew is toggled off, you won't receive the optional domain reminders sent by Hover, but you will still receive the ICANN required ones. You can determine the auto-renew status of a domain from your Hover account or the Hover renewal reminder emails. The renewal emails sent directly from ICANN don't show this status.

Back to top

Managing auto-renew for one domain

  1. Click Your Account and then Domains.
  2. On your Domains overview page, navigate to the details column on the left-hand side of the page to the auto-renew toggle. 
    Autorenew_toggle_off.png
  3. Use the toggle to turn auto-renew on or off and confirm your choice in the confirmation pop-up window that appears when you toggle auto-renew off. 

Back to top

Managing auto-renew with multiple domains

  1. Select Your Account and then click Domains.
  2. On Your Domains page, you will see a list of your domains displayed. Each row has three icons. The third icon allows you to toggle auto-renew on or off.
    Your_Domains_list.png
  3. Click the Auto-renew (arrows pointing towards each other) icon to turn your auto-renew on or off.
  4. In the confirmation pop-up window, click to confirm the change.
    Disable_Auto-Renew.png

Back to Top

Editing auto-renew for multiple domains at once

  1. Select the domains you want to auto-renew with the checkboxes on the left-hand side.
    auto_toggle.png
  2. Navigate to the dropdown that says Bulk edit: select.
  3. Select Turn on auto-renew.
    Bulk_Edit.png
  4. Change your auto-renew state in the pop-up confirmation window. 
    Confirmation_Box.png

Back to top

Managing auto-renew for emails

  1. Navigate to Your Account and then Emails or Personal Emails
  2. Under the email section, you should see the created email account. To the right of that address, navigate over to the Auto-renew (arrows pointing towards each other) icon to toggle it off. 

    Autorenew_Mailbox.png

When the expiration date arrives, the email will be deleted. 

Note: If you want to keep your email messages, make sure you have your messages backed up via an email client before turning off auto-renew. There is no guarantee the emails will still be available for restoration once the mailbox is deleted so be sure to get them backed up first. 

Back to top

Was this article helpful?

Still need some help? Submit a Request.